Friday, 10 May 2013

our last day in Roma

So, last day in Rome and we decided to sleep in (again :)) so we didnt leave the hostel till about 11:30 ish and so didnt get into rome till about 12, than we wanted to go to the Catacombs so we had to go on another train (jam packed, its like playing a game of squashed sardines every time you get on the metro trains haha..) and a bus to get to them. and was it worth it, for those who dont know what they are (cause i didnt) it is the old burial/cemetery of the christians, and it is under ground, in tunnels. You have to go with a guide because other wise you will get lost and not find your way out. It was so interesting and ery walking through the tunnels with graves on either side of you, just in the walls. They are all empty now because of the Romans who started digging them up because they believed that they were buried with treasures, but soon stopped because that was not the case. But they are all empty all the same, the bodies were all moved to a mass grave. unfortunatly we were not allowed to take photos when we were under ground so not many photos for today but i have some from yesterday that i would like to share :)
enjoy
love you xoxo

















No comments:

Post a Comment